cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32C0 (M0) via makefile: gcc throws "processor does not support `cpsid i' in Thumb mode"

HansW
Associate II

My goal is to have a build system that I can either use locally to program/debug but also would work for CI integration.

I am fairly new to ST environment but to me it seems something is going wrong with makefile generation.

• I am using Windows 10, CubeIDE 1.11.2, CubeMX 6.8.0
  • I have configured the NUCLEO-C031C6 board through CubeMX.
  • I generated an CubeIDE project and added some blinky code -> everything works.
  • I removed the CubeIDE project files and generated a makefile through CubeMX
  • I installed make through chocolatey as forums advised and added its folder to "PATH"
  • I also set the ARM-GNU bin directory to GCC_PATH
  • In CubeIDE I created a makefile project and selected the project directory.

I am faced with the following assembler error though: "selected processor does not support `cpsid i' in Thumb mode".

This happens in the following situations:

• either calling make from CubeIDE as from commandline
  • having GCC_PATH pointing to arm-gnu or to cubeide...externaltools...gnu-tools... plugin. (copied that out of program files though)

So it seems seems that either the makefile is not correct or gnu does not support this chip yet?

for completeness the gcc call (made by makefile) that throws the error: