cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Kernel not starting

DK.9
Associate II

Hi all,

I am pretty new to the STM32 world and I have just started to play around with the STM32F429 discovery kit and STM32CubeIDE. I am OK with the basic & introductory projects, and I was able to have basic IO operations like LED blinking run properly. 

When I tried to first dig into the FreeRTOS concepts, I realized that I'm having issues with the osKernelStart() call taking place in "main.c". (If I comment out this line, the code builds and runs ok "enough" to blink LEDs.)

To make sure that my own code is not affecting the behavior, 

1) I started a clean STM32 project using STM32CubeIDE, 

2) modified no config at all, 

3) directly generated the code

4) built the project

5) started a debug session

6) Debugged the code using "Step Over" 

When I hit the Step Over again when it's on the line where the osKernelStart() is being called, the debugging step options (Step Into, Step Over, Step Return) are all grayed out but the debug session seemed to continue working.

To better understand the exact point of failure, I re-run the debug session iteratively, by Stepping Over if the code line has been observed to be safe (no graying out of the debug menu items) or by Stepping Into if the line is not safe. The successive list of failure points observed in these iterative tests is as follows:

1) main.c osKernelStart();

2) cmsis_os.c vTaskStartScheduler();

3) tasks.c xPortStartScheduler();

4) port.c prvPortStartFirstTask();

5) main.c osDelay(1); (inside StartDefaultTask)

6) cmsis_os.c line 331: "return osErrorResource;"

I must admit that at this point I have no idea what to check. Can anyone please suggest at least a concept that could cause this problem?

Thanks is advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Since osKernelStart doesn't return, any code after that won't be executed.