cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

File are not modified when using Git with STM32Cube IDE

XB1
Associate II

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to Git and I'm trying to use it as my firmware version manager for an existing STM32 project. I set up correctly my project directory to work on my computer and with Bitbucket and everything works fine. I created a new branch before doing some big changes to the project, and I did a checkout towards this branch.

The problem is that when I modify anything inside Cube IDE, the modification doesn't appear inside the "real" file that I find on my computer inside the directory : for example, if I add "//test" into main.c inside Cube IDE, and then I open main.c with VSCode, this line does not appear. I checked several times that the file path is EXACTLY the same (D:/__Git/MyProject/Core/src/main.c), but it does not work at all.

Is it a problem with my setup, with Cube IDE, or with my understanding of Git ? Does anyone have a solution ?

Best Regards.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
KnarfB
Principal III

Sure STM32CubeIDE is not everybody's darling, but it is no evil tool doing harm to your files at will. If you create a new STM32 project with STM32CubeMX or IDE and choose copying all library (driver) source code, you get an ordinary tree of ordinary files which works very well with git. Using that in many projects, for many years. There is even a git plugin for Eclipse/STM32CubeIDE.

Are you sure you saved your file changes before checking? Using a network share may delay updates or irritate the tools with wrong timestamps. Besides of that, I never ran into issues here.

VSCode with stm32-for-vscode extension can be a valid alternative too.

hth

KnarfB

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Piranha
Chief II