Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot communicate woth STM32 chip via simple USB cable on my Windows 10 PC

MDe
Associate

Hello,

- I am new to the STM32 software suite
- I have a (professional) project to develop with fast analog acquisitions that also involves a dialogue with a computer via a simple USB cable.
- I am evaluating an Olimex model STM32-H107 board on which is mounted an STM32F107VCT6 chip
- I have installed the STM32CubeIDE software
- FreeRTOS has been activated and a test task has been automatically generated
- An empty program now compiles without errors and the files to be downloaded to the chip should now be on the computer.
- The chip on the board is connected to my computer via a simple USB cable
- --> The computer does not beep when connecting the USB cable (although STM32CubeIDE is installed)
- I tried the "Run-run" function on STM32CubeIDE to send the program to the chip but I get an error message "No ST-LINK detected! Please connect ST-LINK and restart debug session."
- I then installed the STM32CubeProgrammer software to try to program the chip. I tried on the right of the "Usb - Connect" buttons but without success either. I get the error "Error: Establishing connection with device failed"
- I then installed STM Link Utility, STSW-LINK004. I tried "Target - Connect" but I get the error: "No ST-LINK detected"

In short, I can't connect to my chip via USB, in any way.

Here are my questions
1) It is not clear anywhere on your site whether I need to acquire the special "ST-LINK" cable or not ? This, in order to program the chip through your software suite (Please NOTE : I don't need the debugger - I just need to program the chip)
2) Subsequently, I would need to communicate from my PC to the chip anyway and this, with a simple cable.
- Do I need to install special software on the chip to do this? or is the basic USB on-chip function sufficient?