cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MPU nteraction with a Endpointrest through wifi

SigmaPrime
Senior

Hello everyone,

I received my STM32MP157C-DK2 device and I built a Buildroot-image and flashed it successfully.

I am new to STM32 and to the IoT field so perhaps you can orient me and tell me which Programs I need to do so. I want to write a "hello_world" program that sends hello_world every x-seconds to an Endpoint-rest through Wifi.

Is it possible to only use Linux Bash/Shell interface to execute my Program? (I am familiar to these) and like I said I am only testing some features here like the ability of the DK2 to interact with Endpoint-rests.

Thank you all and have a nice day.

22 REPLIES 22
Olivier GALLIEN
ST Employee

Hi @SigmaPrime​ ,

If you are new to STM32MP1 I recommend you to go through our wiki.

You can find some resource regarding Wifi setup.

https://wiki.st.com/stm32mpu/wiki/How_to_setup_wifi_connection

https://wiki.st.com/stm32mpu/wiki/How_to_configure_a_wlan_interface_on_hotspot_mode

None related to endpoint-rest but maybe it can give you better view of MP1.

Else please be aware that we are only supporting Yocto based solution, not Buildroot.

For this we can recommend some partners.

Olivier

Olivier GALLIEN
In order to give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on 'Accept as Solution' on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.

Thank you for your response

Actually I am having trouble dealing with Buildroot and Wi-Fi connection. The patches installed and given by Buildroot are not actual.

For someone newly introduced to buildroot I made some research and had some basic knowledge but some specific things like installing new patches and configuring drivers are not detailed and I try since 1 week to connect my board to Wi-Fi.

This is what I get every time :

Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant

nl80211: 'nl80211' generic netlink not found