cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting started with a STM32MP157F-DK2

gbernaldo
Associate

Hi, good morning!

First of all, let me tell you that this is my first post (I'm new here in the community of STM32) but I have some experience in the embedded world (I mean, I've used ESP32, Arduino, RPI, BB(Black, Play and AI-64) and other devices for projects at work). The only problem I have is I don't have any experience with STM32 devices and all related stuff so bear in mind with me please. 

The thing is, after reading the Wiki section (Getting started) I see the first thing I have to do to connect the hardware (STM32MP157) to my computer is to buy some wires I don't have right now. The Wires are:

• Connect your laptop to the board ST-LINK/V2-1 port through the micro USB Type-B to USB Type-A cable.
  • Connect the USB Type-C™ to USB Type-C™ cable to the 5V/3A power supply.
  • Connect your laptop to the board USB Type-C OTG port through the USB Type-C™ to USB Type-A cable.

I don't have those wires (in this moment). I just have a USB Type-C (5V/3A) which I've been using for all devices I have (Mainly BeagleBone Black, BeagleBone AI64, Raspberry Pi and other devices) for both power supply and connection from host to device. I thought I could use the USB Type-C wire for both power supply and connection and start doing things with the device throught a serial port connection.

So, my question, is, are those wires (the three of them) mandatory to be able to connect to the device?

Another question I would like to ask is, can you suggest me a book to get more experience using the STM32 devices (Both MCU/MPU)?. In my job, I expect to work with the MCU devices mostly altought I'll use some MPU devices for some concepts or prototypes I'll be working in the next years to come.

Thank you so much in advance.

Best regards!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Richard Li
Senior

I have one MP135F-DK, I guess cable should be same.