cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No STM32 Target Found - Custom board

TEsli.1
Associate II

Hi guys,

I recently made a design based on nucleo wb55 dongle using STM32WB55CGU (48-UFQFN), but I cannot connect to it using SWD.

I believe it is not a schematic problem, so I am a bit stuck for debugging the situation. I soldered it using hot air station (< 250/260 deg celsius). The joints look okay, but I am not an expert on soldering QFN. So, my main guess is that I broke it while soldering.

• Is it really feasible to solder it using hot air station ? or a reflow oven is a must ?
  • I compared the voltage on the dongle with my custom board, and the difference I find is on pin VLXSMPS, and VFBSMPS. It is 3.3V on dongle, but 0V on mine. What could be the reason ?
    • It is not shorted to GND.
    • I tried to short it to VDD, but it didnt help
    • 0693W00000Dq0DGQAZ.png
    •  
  • NRST is at 3.24V
  • I use the ST-Link V2 to program it, same as what I use on the dongle

Thank you very much for your time

SWD

0693W00000Dq0TsQAJ.pngMCU Schematics

0693W00000Dq0D6QAJ.pngVDD0693W00000Dq0D1QAJ.png 

External Clocks0693W00000Dq0CwQAJ.png

13 REPLIES 13
MattKefford
Associate III

The NRST pin has a built in 40k pull-up so are you sure you need the external one? Could be preventing the debugger from resetting the device?

MattKefford
Associate III

Do you have a screenshot/snip of the SWD connector? Are there any other components added like diodes or just connections straight to the MCU?

MattKefford
Associate III

If you are suspicious of the SMPS you could try modding the circuit to the LDO configuration just as a test:

0693W00000Dq0UMQAZ.png

TEsli.1
Associate II

Thank you for your reply.