cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use an STM32 as BLE client to connect to a 3rd party BLE server?

HGill.2
Associate II

I'm new to BLE and working on a project where I need to create a link from my STM32WB15 to a 3rd party IMU sensor. I have no access into the sensor, but I have the UUID's and advertisement data structure.

In STM32CubeProgrammer I set the parameters for the STM32 to be a client looking to link with a third party server. I believe I found the line's of code that direct me where it is pulling/finding the device UUID.

UTIL_SEQ_RegTask(1<<CFG_TASK_START_SCAN_ID, UTIL_SEQ_RFU, Scan_Request); UTIL_SEQ_RegTask(1<<CFG_TASK_CONN_DEV_1_ID, UTIL_SEQ_RFU, Connect_Request);

What I cant find is where in the files I can adjust which device it is searching for to input my sensor's UUID.

Any help would be great, thank you!

P.S. - I've been searching through header files, and other program files. I may be overlooking the exact line where I can manipulate the STM to search and connect with the IMU.

8 REPLIES 8
Remy ISSALYS
ST Employee

Hello,

You can look BLE_p2pClient example available in STM32CubeWB package. This example shows how to demonstrate Point-to-Point communication using BLE component (as GATT client). In this example, the central device (BLE_p2pClient) starts scanning when pressing the User button (SW1) then when BLE_p2pServer is detected, it automatically connects to it. In the code you can look in app_ble.c file into SVCCTL_App_Notification function in the case HCI_LE_ADVERTISING_REPORT_SUBEVT_CODE, that decode the advertising report.

Best Regards

HGill.2
Associate II

Hello and thank you for your reply!

In the "HCI_LE_ADVERTISING_REPORT_SUBEVT_CODE" case you mentioned, is this the location where I would be setting the UUID for the sensor my STM32WB15 Nucleo Board is trying to connect to?

Hello and thank you for your reply!