cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to configure BLE from STM32U5 MCU pinout (IOC file)?

juyec
Associate II

Hello!

The title pretty much says it all - I'm trying to figure out how to configure BLE between two B-U585I-IOT02A boards, but establishing the BLE connection is a bit confusing to me. Am I able to configure it from the UFBGA169 IOC file in STM32CubeMX, or is there another way to do that?

I'm also struggling with communicating between the STM32U5 chip and the STM32WB5M module on the B-U585I-IOT02A board - I found a document on the ST Wiki that says these two chips can communicate over LPUART, but I'm not entirely sure if there's any additional configuration I'd need to do.

I apologize if these questions are super simple - I'm still a bit new to the STM32 ecosystem, and I've gotten lost between all the documentation available.

Thank you,

Jake U.

6 REPLIES 6
Mohamed Aymen HZAMI
ST Employee

Hello @juyec​ and welcome to the community,

At first you can start have a look at the example under this path:

STM32Cube\Repository\STM32Cube_FW_U5_V1.1.0\Projects\B-U585I-IOT02A\Applications\BLE\BLE_AT_Client

To make this example work, you need to read carefully the readMe file under the same path

Mohamed Aymen

juyec
Associate II

Hello @Mohamed Aymen HZAMI​ ! Thank you for the response!

I've looked over the project and the readme, but I was hoping to get two boards to communicate with each other (instead of a smartphone to board). I'm assuming this would be harder since there's no GUI to pair the devices, so it would need to be done in the code. Something similar to the BLE_CableReplacement project in the STM32WB firmware package, but through the B-U585I-IOT02A boards instead.

Does the STM32WB module on the B-U585I-IOT02A come with the FUS and BLE stack already flashed (factory default), or would I still need to flash these binaries with the instructions listed in the readme?