cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the best IDE / tool chain for an STM32 rookie?

SHobb.1
Associate II

My background is in hardware, but I have extensive experience writing "bare metal" code (C) for 8-bit MCUs, mostly for AVRs. In the past, I have used AVR Studio (now Microchip Studio), starting with version 4.18 down to present versions. Tool chain was avr-gcc, followed by whatever Atmel eventually wrote and integrated into their later IDEs. I am starting a few new projects built around STM32G071 chips. While waiting for hardware, I am trying to come up to speed with software creation using a NUCLEO-F103RB. My end application (for now) requires interfacing to another MCU and controlling a BLDC motor.

This is my first foray into 32 bit MCUs and ARM. What is the best IDE/tool chain for me to use? My head is currently spinning with options. I have looked at STM32CubeIDE, but have read horror stories online about deleted code, etc. I have also read about Keil and IAR. I am reasonably familiar with makefiles, but would like to avoid a pure command line/script/text editor approach, and would prefer a more integrated solution (something similar to Atmel Studio with editably makefiles). Due to my hardware background, my coding style is to be as close to the hardware as possible (configuring peripherals by manually setting registers, etc.). Does this impact my choice? Should I use CMSIS or HAL (not sure how...)?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

27 REPLIES 27
TSosi.1
Associate III

We use IAR 9.20. Our hardware engineer is ok with it too. The CubeMx, from ST, output compiles without any problem. Make sure you check out CubeMx. The code generated is used for board setup and clock configuration.

From a just works perspective perhaps Keil. IAR seems to be a moving target.