cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What diagnostics can be run on PC and STM32 to debug failing USB virtual COM port?

KHarb.1
Senior II

I have an STM32G4 board that is to function as a virtual COM port via USB.  This is my first attempt at implementing USB. Within CubeIDE, I enabled the USB feature and configured a middleware device for the virtual COM port. I’m not seeing the PC react in any way when I connect the board. I’m not sure where to begin to debug and I don't see any examples for the STM32G, so I'm also not sure if I've completed all the needed steps for it show up as a PC device.

Can I observe connection progress with the PC via the USB registers? 

If I had an electrical failure on the USB connection, what diagnostics could I run in software from the PC?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

@KHarb.1 wrote:

Debug: I don't have a good example for the G4, 

And did you look for examples?

BarryWhit_0-1722487220409.png

> let alone documentation for the USB code. 

And did you look for documentation?

BarryWhit_1-1722487286550.png

As far as getting the device to simply enumerate, there's no real need for an example. You just configure the USB peripheral as a CDC device in Cube and generate the code. On the software side of things, nothing more is required for the board to show up as a COM Port in windows device manager.

- If someone's post helped resolve your issue, thank them by clicking "Accept as Solution".
- Once you've solved your issue, please post an update with any further details.

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17
TDK
Guru

Are you using a USB data cable? A power-only cable will give you the response you're reporting.

Which board? Ensure it is wired up correctly and appropriate pins are connected to the USB header you are using.