cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USB initialisation and deinitialisation

brians
Associate II
Posted on March 13, 2017 at 17:13

I am using USB CDC both for bootloader and in the loaded application with the IAR toolset and the CubeMX Middleware/HALlibrary.  Turning off the USB & Timer interrupts before the jump it jumps cleanly and runs the application, except that the USB will not restart (USBD_Start). I am using the normal start USBD start sequence.  If I load the application and run it at the same address all is fine and USB initialises runs as expected.  Is there a prescribed way to turn off USB in the boot loader and re-start it in an application?

22 REPLIES 22
MDS
Associate III
Posted on July 27, 2017 at 13:59

I have been writing USB device driver stacks for over 10 years. Assuming you have a Windows host, this sounds like the Windows bug that I found back at Windows XP and it still exists with Window 10.

If a USB device disconnects while the Windows application has the socket or COM port open, upon reconnection, the USB device will enumerate, but Windows cannot open the socket or COM port. Here is the procedure our installer app uses to revive the connection after it has gone away.

1. Windows must close the connection, e.g. exit the application.

2. Then, either Windows can cycle power on the USB port, or issue a USB Bus Reset, or the user can unplug and re-plug the USB device.

After the Windows app has closed the connection and the USB device has re-enumerated, communications is restored.