cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Update Firmware over USB Virtual Comm Port

LMorr.3
Senior II

Hello,

I am using the STM32F373's virtual USB port successfully.  I can connect and send packets to the uC from a web browser.  I now want to allow the user to update the firmware from the web browser by uploading a file, instead of the traditional method involving the ST flash software.  

It would need to happen via WebSerial API so over the USB virtual port.  What is the best way to accomplish this?  Is there an appnote I should look at?  I'm looking at AN2606 [bootloader] and AN3156 [DFU] and AN3156 now.

Thank you,

17 REPLIES 17

I'm still learning about the best approach.  The USB connection starts off as a virtual com port, and then sends a command to the uC to switch it to boot mode via USB DFU.  That is as far as I got, but I'm guessing there are github projects which will show me how to get the dowload from browser done, instead of using the ST32 programmer app.  The uC would then receive the 'Go' command to get back to running the newly updated app.  I'm surprised there is no well-documented solution to this since it seems to be the most convenient way to upgrade end-user products.  The USB DFU even allows a web URL to be discovered by the host, so the checking of the latest version, downloading of new firmware and flashing could all be done behind the scenes.  I've seen this done with other end-user devices.  I'm not sure if bricking of device is a concern so I still need to do more research.  

BarryWhit
Senior III

I suppose it should be possible, while your user application is running, to accept a command from the client,

> and then go through some sort of state cleanup followed by a jump to the bootloader. Might work.

Just saw this,

KB:How to jump to system bootloader from application code on STM32 microcontrollers