cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Time base interrupt STM32G4 HAL overflowing?

CMart.8
Associate

Hello everyone,

this is my first post here, please my apologies if I mistake some terms since we jumped into the ST controller world in the company around 6 months ago and I am still learning about the technologies.

I have been working so far on a project on STM32G474 Nucleo board with IAR, basically a control system giving out PWM outputs for a valve on a 50kHz control loop running on an interrupt, with FreeRTOS on top to look after non-RT tasks like CAN communication, EEPROM handling over SPI, and some big computations that cannot be done in real-time.

I started running into random problems that manifest as CAN communication not working, irregularities in the PWM and parameters not being written / read from EEPROM correctly. The conditions for coming into this errors are difficult to pinpoint, I add some function call somewhere and the whole application starts showing problems.

Today I started investigating the interrupts in the system, from which I use:

• TIM7: HAL time base
  • TIM1: application
  • DMA1...5: ADC conversions

Below is a capture of the interrupt log of the system running for some microseconds. The "overflow" means that IAR could not get some of the interrupts.

I have several questions:

(1) Does it really make sense that the void TIM7_DAC_IRQHandler(void) function needs 268 cycles to run, if it is called with 1MHz in a system running with 170MHz? 268 cycles need 1.57us, which is more than the interval between interrupts.

(2) Apart from that, I see that probably the interrupts are stacking (Status column is moving to the right), but maybe it is related to the problem with IAR losing information?).