cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F4 external loader erratic function parameter passing issue

grams
Associate II

This is my first time making and external loader for an SPI flash device. I followed the examples and documentation I was able to find. I was to get the project setup on Keil and ".stldr" file loaded onto ST-Link Utility & CubeProgrammer.

Initially, I set up the "Read" function to send dummy data and that worked fine, so I thought everything would be straight forward from there.

When I added the quadspi code (which has been tested to work on application), the "Init" function would fail by HardFaulting presumably (I was unsuccessful at setting up a debugging project). Through trial and error, I have isolated the fault to be in the HAL_QSPI_Init() function where the "hqspi" function parameter is first referenced to access the hqspi->Instance. From my pseudo-debugging, I have concluded that that function parameter is incorrect and yields all 0xFF for all struct members, causing the HardFault; it almost seems as if that function parameter was corrupted and points somewhere else. 

If somebody with more experience on these external loader projects has a bit of insight as to what might be going on, I would appreciate it. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
grams
Associate II

So it appears to be working now after changing the linker/scatter file from the commonly suggested:

FLASH_LOADER 0x20000004 PI ; FlashLoader Functions
{
  . . . 
}

DEVICE_INFO +0 ; Device Info
{

. . . 

}

to

FLASH_LOADER 0x20000004 ; FlashLoader Functions
{
  . . .
}

DEVICE_INFO 0x20040000 ; Device Info
{
  . . .
}

I'm no expert on scatter files, but I'll do some more reading to make sure this is acceptable. 

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

These loaders don't enter through startup / main code, assume statics/globals are initialized