cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F3xx - Hardfault_Handler due to failed vector table fetch

SVasi.1
Associate II

First I want to say that I am a newbie in this field. I am trying to upload and debug a code on a custom-made board based on STM32F303CB chip through a NUCLEO-F446RE board. I am using Eclipse IDE (2019-12), a GNU toolchain and a SEGGER J-Link debugging software.

The code builds successfully with no errors, anyway when starting to debug, a HardFault_handler is called. The code was not written by me. I doubt that the problem is in the code itself (it builds) and rather think that some setting of the tools is not right (correct me if I am wrong). I also tried the same procedure on several boards, so I would exclude a hardware issue as well.

The debugger hangs when initializing the USB in the function **MX_USB_Init()**, leading to a HardFault_handler. When debugging in single-step mode, most funcitons within MX_USB_init() execute successfully, except **USBD_Start(&hUsbDeviceFS)**. When stepping into USBD_Start(...), it arrives in the while(1) loop of the HardFault_handler. 

When debugging in resume mode (no single step), debugger would also hang at previous functions which work properly in single-step mode such as **HAL_PCD_Init(&hpcd_USB_FS)**, **HAL_PCDEx_PMAConfig**, **USBD_RegisterClass(&hUsbDeviceFS, &USBD_CDC)**, **USBD_CDC_RegisterInterface(&hUsbDeviceFS, &USBD_Interface_fops_FS)** and again **USBD_Start(&hUsbDeviceFS)**.

I commented out the empty Hardfault_Handler() function in stm32f3xx_it.c generated by CubeMX and caused the calling of the default CMSIS Hardfault_Handler() function in exception_handlers.c. Doing that in the debug console I get the values of several registers:

SEGGER J-Link GDB Server V6.60f - Terminal output channel

[HardFault]

Stack frame:

R0 = 00000000

R1 = 0000BF00

R2 = 40005C00

R3 = 00000001

R12 = 0000E000

LR = FFFFFFF9

PC = F3EF8008

PSR = 6000005B

FSR/FAR:

CFSR = 00000001