cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Protection against HRTIM output locking high

DavidNaviaux
Senior

I am using an STM32G474 to create an inverting buck-boost converter, but after damaging a few boards, I realized that there is a series design issue that could short 24V to ground through an inductor if the HRTIM output pin ever goes high unexpectedly.  Here is a clip from the schematic:

DavidNaviaux_0-1699704545013.png

Note that if the top MOSFET of the half-bridge gets switched on for longer than a few microseconds, there will essentially be a short from 24V to ground through L1.

Is there a way that I can significantly reduce the chances of this happening under the following conditions?

1. When using the debugger.
  2. When flashing new code.
  3. When cycling power very quickly.
  4. If the MCU starts executing from uninitialized memory (i.e., RAM) for any reason.

I know some features that I might be able to use, listed below, but I'm a newbie with this MCU and digitally controlled power supplies in general:

1. Watchdog timer
  2. Over current fault detection via the pulse transformer
  3. Brownout power detection
  4. Loss of power detection interrupt 

Is there a way that I can force an MCU reset that will require a power cycle to recover from if an invalid instruction is executed or if code execution is not happening from within a defined region?

Thank you!

5 REPLIES 5
Pierre_Paris
ST Employee

Hello @DavidNaviaux,

Here some comments/questions about your possible actions :

• You are driving two transistors with the HRTIM, you need to have complementary signals. A good solution to avoid big conduction is to use the deadtime feature that allows to control programmable delays.
  • If you are afraid of "HRTIM output pin ever goes high unexpectedly". You can check the GPIO registers to check configurations. If (by default) there are I/Os with a pull up...