Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to interpolate and compare 2 sine waves

paul sauv
Associate III
Posted on February 28, 2018 at 22:23

Hi everyone,

With my STM32F103C8T6 I would like to receive the 2 signals I1 and I2 from the picture below in order to convert to

https://community.st.com/tags#/?tags=square%20signal

All the square part is already coded and working great.

Now I would like to learn how to use this

https://community.st.com/tags#/?tags=sine%20waveform

and

#

signal and interpolate them such as the file attached in order to have a decent precision. For example, in my case the step of the wave is 20 microns so I would like to interpolate it by 20 in order to have 20 pulses of 1 micron.

This is an optical ruler on a milling machine so the ruler can travel in both ways with numerous direction changes

I'm a hobbyist so any bite of code is very welcomed

Right now, I only use Std periph lib, not HAL libraries.

Thank you for your help

0690X00000609qZQAQ.png

#square-signal #sine-waveform #cosine

Note: this post was migrated and contained many threaded conversations, some content may be missing.
19 REPLIES 19
Posted on March 03, 2018 at 15:29

'

I followed advices above and bought an specific IC: IC-NV'

that's very unfortunate, as the article you linked to provided incredibly concise expression between the inputs and the outputs. it is quite easy to implement in a mcu.

Posted on March 03, 2018 at 15:31

yes but I have absolutey no idea how to proceed as a beginner

But I would be happy to understand if you explain piece of code

Posted on March 03, 2018 at 21:51

You have to start somewhere or you will forever be a beginner.

The paper you linked to is quite simple. And it takes no code to understand.

Posted on March 04, 2018 at 08:58

I totally agree. I understand the document quite well I think but stuck on the MCU part