cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to get STM32f103c8t6 working with Windows 10 (No drivers it seems)?

IGama.2
Associate II

Hi, I'm completely new to MCU programming, and bought my very first unit stm32f103c8t6 from a local store. I read some glowing reviews about it and bought it as my first ever MCU because it was affordable. Boy am I regretting my decision now! :(

I can't even seem to get it connected with my PC. I'm using Windows 10 as I'm sure more than 75% of the world are. It seems there are no drivers for my OS. I tried the Windows 7 and Windows 8 drivers but they don't work.

When I plug in my stm32f103c8t6 with USB cable and micro USB port, it shows USB device is not recognized. There's clearly a driver missing.

I also bought a USB TTL adapter. I installed its drivers, and I connected using Vin, Gnd, Tx, Rx (A9, A10 pins) and tried to get it working. Used the Arduino IDE latest version like every instructional video says. The blink example seems to upload to the stm32f103c8t6 without issues, but the LED pc13 does not blink.

I tried searching everywhere for a solution, and all I found out is nothing. That's why I'm asking my question here. I don't want to buy anymore adapters or other physical items because my initial happiness about stm32f103c8t6 is already gone. What sort of a company doesn't develop drivers for Windows 10?? :(

I have a USB TTL (PL2303) adapter, several USB to micro USB cables, jumpers, breadboards, Resisters, Capacitors etc with me. I just want to try once more to somehow get my stm32f103c8t6 working, or just throw it away and buy an Arduino board.

So please let me know if there's a way to download some software, drivers, or connect my stm32f103c8t6 with the components I have somehow and get it working. I'm really not keeping high hopes here, so you can surprise me.

If it helps, here's the store link that I bought it from.