cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Feedback Requested on general approached used for ADC

nollstead
Associate III

Hello, reaching out to see if anyone can provide some thoughts on a project I'm working on.  The project works but though I'm a longtime Arduino developer this is my first STM32 project - so not 100% sure of some of the parameters I've chosen are the best or most efficient.

The project is simple, custom board implementing a remote control that will eventually transmit using BLE.  The remote control design is straightforward and similar to a XBox style controller.  It has two joysticks, two toggle switches, two potentiometers (dials), four push buttons and a battery monitor (voltage divider).  Here is an image from my HW design software if that helps:

Joystick.png

All of the circuitry works except RF, which I haven't tested yet, and I've written the code in STM32CubeIDE to read the inputs.  Here are the specifics along with something I'm not sure about:

• It uses a timer set to read all of those at once every 200ms - which is probably around the granularity i'm looking for.
  • The device it will control really just needs 8-bit data.  Currently I have the ADC resolution set to 12-bit and I map that to a range of 0-255 but I've also experimented with just using 8-bit resolution in the ADC (which would eliminate the need to map).  I only went higher because I'm looking at how best to read and store the voltage.  
  • When the timer fires I just read the 7 analog values and put into a struct.  I also read the digital values at the same time as it seemed like a good place to do it without using another timer or wait loop.  Not sure if that adds issues being done in the callback.