cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot Update TIM CCR Register in Timer Master/Slave Mode for Phase Shift PWM

Jan_Kisielnicki
Associate II

Hello,

I am quite new to STM32, so I would highly appreciate your help.

I am using an STM32F407G-DISC1 board.

I am trying to generale phase shifted complementary PWM for PFSB control. I am using TIM1 CH1/1N to generate one pair of signals, and TIM8 CH2/2N to generate the other. To obtain the phase shift, I am using Output Compare No Output Mode at TIM1 CH2, which generates an interrupt that controls the counter of TIM8 via ITR0. When I modify the initial pulse configuration, the phase shift is achieved correctly (oscilloscope picture, yellow trace for TIM1 CH1 and blue for TIM8 CH2). However, when I try to vary TIM1->CCR2 in order to change the pulse value and essentially change the phase shift, nothing happens. Below you can see my configuration and change of CCR2 value:

Code.JPG 

Below I attach the oscilloscope traces and screenshots of TIM1 configuration. Thank you in advance!

7 REPLIES 7

> To obtain the phase shift, I am using Output Compare No Output Mode at TIM1 CH2, which generates an interrupt that controls the counter of TIM8 via ITR0.

How?

JW

PS. Don't post code as screenshot; use the </> icon at top of editor pane to post code.

PS2. Use TIM1_CH2 output to visualize first-hand the effect of changing TIM1_CCR2.

Hello,

Thanks for replying! Below I describe the configuration of the key features for that function:

TIM1

Channel 2 set to Output Compare No Output. Trigger event is set by OC2REF. Channel 2 mode set to active level on match, to generate a trigger event for TIM8. The counter counts up to 1119, so that value varies between 0-1119.

TIM8

Reference Manual for the board states that TIM8 can be controlled as a slave by TIM1 via internal trigger ITR0:

Jan_Kisielnicki_0-1716896511156.png

So, in the TIM8 config I set the trigger source as ITR0: