Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can this be done with a STM32F103ZE

dubedat68
Associate II
Posted on March 16, 2015 at 13:17

Hello,

I have no experience at all with micro controllers & only brief experience with wiring up electronics / & some low-level programming, so please accept my apologies up-front.

I have a need to create a device that:

a.  Has ONE (1) incoming RS232 port

b.  Has FOUR (4) separate outgoing RS232 ports

c.  ''reads'' an incoming RS232 stream,

d.  look at the first 2 Bytes of info

e.  check for the ''address'' (2nd byte)

f.  if it is addressed ''FF 01 .........'', forward the complete original data out PORT 1 ONLY

g.  if it is addressed ''FF 02 .........'' re-address the data to ''FF 01 ........'' and forward the complete data out PORT 2 ONLY

h.  if it is addressed ''FF 03 .........'' 

re-address the data to ''FF 01 ........'' and forward the complete data out PORT 3 ONLY

i.  if it is addressed ''FF 04 .........'' 

re-address the data to ''FF 01 ........'' and forward the complete data out PORT 4 ONLY

Here is a drawing of this for those who are more ''visual'' like me.

https://communities.intel.com/servlet/JiveServlet/showImage/2-284311-243094/PelcoD---prototype.jpg

The baud rate is 9600, 8, N, 1 (no flow control), if that helps.

Is this possible with the STM32F103ZE?

If so, would anyone be willing to ''tutor'' me in learning how to get this done?

If not, would anyone be able to suggest a more suitable platform to achieve it?

Many thanks in advance,

duBe

28 REPLIES 28
Danish1
Lead II
Posted on March 17, 2015 at 15:25

You don't

need

to multiplex the UARTs.

But that's only if you can find/make a circuit board that wires up the UART pins in such a way that they can be used as UARTs (rather than forcing them to be used for something else).

That's fine if you're designing your own board - but you need a fair degree of competence (or luck) to get this to work first time.