cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CAN Errors

Ruthvik-Ramesh
Associate II

Hi All,

I have written a baremetal program for CAN Tx and Rx for the board STM32f103C8T6.The normal tx and rx function are working fine , next i have to simulate errors to see how the can system i have written works/performs.

I have some ideas but am not exactly sure how to make errors happen , i have seen some suggestions to flip bits and change the value for the frame fields.Can anyone advice on how to proceed.The CAN Analyzer i am using is USB_CAN Analyzer v8.00.

i am not an experienced professional in can and am learning as i do this, so kindly advice . Thanks  

8 REPLIES 8
Tinnagit
Senior II

if You have no experience with CAN communication, I'm not really recommend to do with CAN signal from scratch except you have free time long enough to concentrate on it.
if you have no time like that. I suggest you to use MCP2551 SPI to CAN which it has every necessary register to communicate on CAN.

So if you need to use can that you should work with MCP2551 but if you want to build from scratch, you should start with MCP2551. you can learn the protocol from it.

but CAN have 2 types.
one is CAN, Normal CAN. 
and other is FD-CAN which both of them are CAN Standard.

Ruthvik-Ramesh
Associate II

Thanks for replying @Tinnagit . I have to learn CAN as a part of my role in an upcoming project and that board does not support APIs so have to baremetal.

you should learn from MCP2551

Ruthvik-Ramesh
Associate II

Thanks for your reply @Tinnagit . I am using mcp2551 can transceiver. i need help with the stm32 coding part.

JPeac.1
Senior

The easiest error to simulate is to disconnect from the CAN bus.  You'll get a flood of errors which will quickly disconnect the transmitter.  You can test how your code recovers from the disconnect in a graceful way, and if your application waits for a reconnect then you can evaluate the recovery process.