cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ARINC429 - How to correctly send data from a STM32L562VET6Q mcu and an receiving it on an arinc429 using spi

Gojo
Associate II

Hello everyone,

Hope you are all doing well. I am currently working on a BMS that includes an STM32L562VET6Q MCU and other peripherals.

ARINC429 is completely new to me. This week, I have been reading the ARINC 429 (HI-35850) datasheet and trying to correctly configure the SPI on my MCU to send data to the ARINC. In this post, you will find the I/O connections between the ARINC and my MCU. For now, I am only using CS, SCK, and SI to send data, and I am monitoring CS, SCK, SO, and SI on my picoscope with wires directly pinned to the ARINC.

Below, I will provide the configuration files for SPI, GPIO, and ARINC so you can better assist me.

My problem is that, compared to the datasheet, I do not see the exact data frames I was expecting after reading the datasheet. Since I am new to this protocol, I am confused about what to expect, which I believe is due to a lack of understanding. Therefore, I hope someone can kindly guide me through this issue and correct my configuration if possible.

Thanks a lot, and have a great day and a wonderful summer!

I/O :

Gojo_0-1721031772481.png

main : 

Gojo_1-1721031772495.png

3 REPLIES 3
tjaekel
Lead

What an interesting topic and project: ARINC429 on an STM32 MCU. Cool.

I am a pilot, I have done an avionics installation project, including wiring an ARINC429 bus and looking for an interface to read (and send) ARINC429 messages.
Here, I have used an ARINC429 bridge, e.g. HOLT:

https://www.holtic.com/product/p/pb/5-adk-8582-hi-85828583-evaluation-board.aspx

I am a bit suspicious what you try to do with a SPI peripheral on an STM32 MCU:

• ARINC429 uses differential signals, + (or HI) and - (LO), always a pair of two wires: