cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does the mc_api actually do anything?

gazzatav
Associate III

I'm a complete beginner following the motor control tutorial here:

https://wiki.st.com/stm32mcu/wiki/STM32StepByStep:Getting_started_with_Motor_Control#Managing_the_programming_code_part

It tells me that this code will get my motor running.

while (1)
  {
	  MC_StartMotor1();
	  HAL_Delay(2000); 
      MC_StopMotor1();
 }

Well I've followed the whole tutorial, creating a project from scratch and I think I can safely say that it doesn't do what it's supposed to do.

I know the program is running as I have an LED flashing under my control each time it goes round the loop but the motor does not move. The motor is known to work. Looking at the api, this function just returns another function in mc_interface:

MCI_StartMotor(MCI_Handle_t *pHandle)

I do not know where this second function is supposed to get the pointer from - the wrapping function doesn't supply it. Perhaps it is initialised somewhere else - to me it looks suspect. Is it worth bothering with this tutorial or should I just get on with using mc_interface and initialise the pointer myself?

For completeness my loop is like this:

while (1)
  {
	  blink(400, 1, 4);
	  blink(400, 2, 3);
	  blink(400, 3, 2);
	  blink(400, 4, 1);
	  HAL_Delay(1000);
	  MC_StartMotor1();
	  HAL_Delay(2000);
	  MC_StopMotor1();

1 REPLY 1
gazzatav
Associate III

In short, the mci_api yes, this tutorial code, NO!