cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Programming a STM32 F405 flight controller - Mateksys F405-Te - Can't upload code from STM32CubeIDE

UnregisteredUser
Associate II

Hello 🙂

For my university project, I need to build a drone. I've never done anything like this before and could use a bit of a jumpstart.

I have a Mateksys F405-TE flight controller that I'm supposed to use to control the drone.

To test it, I created a project in CubeIDE and tried to control the LEDs on the board. During debugging, I encountered the error message "Could not connect to J-Link" or "No ST-Link detected..."

I had worked with an original STM F4 board and an extension board before, and it just worked.

What would be easier and more preferable for me in this project is if I could model the controller in Simulink and then generate the code.

I know there are support packages for STM32 in Matlab. Therefore, I also created a model to control the LEDs. The build was successful, but it did not find a "Target Device" or something similar.

Now I am completely clueless about how to approach this. Does anyone have any ideas?

10 REPLIES 10
TDK
Guru

ST boards work because they have an on-board ST-Link programmer/debugger. That flight controller does not and is only connected by USB.

You'll need a programmer such as https://www.st.com/en/development-tools/stlink-v3minie.html and will need to find the appropriate SWD pads to connect it to, if they're even exposed, which it doesn't look like they are.

You can also program over USB if you boot into the bootloader, but you cannot debug through this interface and I don't recommend using it for development.

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".
Pavel A.
Evangelist III

University? Do they teach something there? Are there teachers or instructors?

I was just asking...

I pretty much don't have any experience in this field, so it's not easy for me to get started.