cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LwIP TCP server send periodic data

loribru
Associate II

Hi all, I am developing a TCP server starting from the STM32F4 TCP server echo sample.

My goal is to keep the echo functionality and send in addition a periodic message.
I modified slightly the original file and I managed to have the echo working and the method tcp_echoserver_periodic_notification called every second, but that message does not get to my client.
I am probably doing something wrong but I do not understand what since it's my first time with LwIP and I must say it's not very straightforward.
Can you please help me, what am I doing wrong?
Also, I see other examples using the methods pbuf_take and pbuf_alloc, but the ST example does not use them, what is best to do here?
Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hello, at the end I recreated my project from scratch in the MX interface. This time I used FreeRTOS with CMSIS v2 and it worked.

It's not super straightforward to say what changed.

I increased DEFAULT_THREAD_STACKSIZE from 512 to 1024.

I disabled LWIP_NETIF_STATUS_CALLBACK.

TCPIP_THREAD_PRIO changed from 3 to 24 (probably a CMSIS v1 vs v2 change here).

I am not sure if it's any of these changes that made it work, but now the 2 threads are running to handle the receive and send of the messages using Netconn.

The only remaining issue so far is that FreeRTOS sometimes hangs upon TCP connection. Not very reproducible behavior. It's not a hard fault, but all tasks stop all of a sudden.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
Bob S
Principal