cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Crystal Oscillator Verification

Aaronium
Associate III

Hello,

This is my first time designing a PCB for an STM32F4 microcontroller (and I only get one shot at making this board), and the specific application requires USB and a CAN-Bus. I chose a 10 MHz through-hole crystal oscillator (ABL-10.000MHz-B1U-T) for the HSE, and have looked through the AN2867 application note for the calculations needed. The trouble is that I am not able to run the calculations for Vpp at C_L1 for computing C_tot, much less I do not fully understand the crystal and passive component selection process. I ran the calculations to my understanding, and got 16 pF for C_L1 & C_L2, and a R_EXT of 1 kOhm, but I can not seem to get the Gm_crit(max) under the required 1 mA/V. I am assuming the stray capacitance to be 10 pF, and from the datasheet a drive level of 100 uW, C_shunt = 7 pF, C_load = 18 pF, and ESR = 50 Ohms. Furthermore, I am overestimating gm to 30 mA/V so that this can be used across different types of STM32 microcontrollers (not just the F4).

If someone could give me some guidance on this, I would appreciate it so much.

Here is the crystal section of the schematic.

0693W00000FBi3QQAT.png

5 REPLIES 5
TDK
Guru

10pF seems high for stray capacitance. I usually assume 4pF. The design guide uses 5pF as an example.

There is quite a bit of wiggle room.

8MHz is more popular than 10MHz, but either will work.

When in doubt, use an ST-recommended crystal. You could even copy the circuit from a Nucleo board.

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".
Wolfgang Pupp
Associate III

I'd advise to prefer 8Mhz oscillators if you have a CAN application because this makes for painfree prescaler/bit timing configuration (with the frequently recommended 87.5% sample point), which can be annoying to do if you have a more exotic peripheral base frequency thats not a multiple of 8MHz.