cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is ST25R3918 max range with 43x43mm antenna?

KMadry
Associate

Hi,

I'm new with RFID technology especially when it comes to designing antennas on boards and calculating matching circuits but... I have successfully designed and manufactured my board with ST25R3918 and I have a few questions.

I have a 43x43mm on board antenna with other electronics inside it, I have done 0.5mm spacing between antenna and ground polygon surrounding ST25R, uC and some serial communication ICs. Now I have about 8.5cm range with the 5x5cm tag (ST25TV02KC with ISO15693) from ST25-TAG-BAG-UB but only 3-4cm range with the button tag from that bag. Is there anything that I should do to increase the range? I have thought about two things: Firstly, redesign the "internal" circuitry to increase the spacing between antenna and ground. Secondly, change the RFID reader to ST25R3916B with greater output power (1.6W and ST25R3918 only 0.5W) but I don't know if it is possible to just desolder ST25R3918 and solder ST25R3916B in the same place(Can Auto Tuning circuits be a problem?).

Next question is about the range of RFID reader or TAG placed in a plastic case screwed to the metal base. I have read that there are some ferrites like: Flexible Sintered Ferrite Sheet from Wurth Elektronik that I can apply on metal and it could increase the range or it could be at the same level (8.5cm). Could someone give me some more advice and explain it a bit?

Here is the simplified view of my board:0693W00000Y8k2tQAB.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Travis Palmer
ST Employee

Hello KMadry,

Increasing the spacing between GND and antenna is a good idea.

The magnetic field will induce eddie currents into the GND plane, which will cause losses. The bigger the distance will be, the smaller die eddie currents will get. I would also try to pull the antenna traces to the edge of the PCB. (Octagon shaped antenna)