cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to measure the RSSI value between an RF tag and a reader?

VSoni.1
Associate III

Hello, I am fairly new to the field of RF communication. I am working on a project wherein I have to communicate with RF tags using RF readers. The RF tag IC I am planning to use belongs to the ST25TV series. Since I'm planning to use multiple RF tags in my project which will be moving, I wanted to know how could I measure the RSSI value for each tag? Would that value be measured by STmicroelectronic's reader ICs and any particular software offered by you for the same? Please suggest if there are any specific ST25 RFID readers which might measure RSSI or any third-party products/software which might be capable of that. Thank you very much!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Travis Palmer
ST Employee

Hello VSoni,

yes the ST35R3911B and ST25R3916 and their derivates support have a dedicated register to display the "Received Signal Strength" as an indicator (RSSI).

For example looking at the ST25R3911B:

Looking at Figure 4 of the datasheet, you can see that at the end of the receiver chain, the received signal strength is being measured. Since the signal travels through the whole receiver chain, the gains of the first, second and third gain stage have to be taken into account, as well as the attenuation of demodulator and individual attenuation of the gain stages. (details can be found in chapter 1.2.3 Receiver - "demodulator stage" and "Filtering and gain stages".

The RFAL already provides some API for getting the RSSI value of a received frame and calculating the signal strength based on the gain stages.

There is also a dedicated section in chapter 1.2.3 about the RSSI measurement.

The ST25R3916 offers a similar functionality. due to the advanced receiver, I would recommend to use this device.

You can explore the the RSSI feature on our ST25R3916-DISCO board.