cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Max frequency range of MP34DT06J

mst8k
Associate II

I am looking to build a visual model of the human cochlea and was hoping to use the Adruino Nano 33 Sense which has a MP34DT06J microphone integrated.  I can't find the frequency range in the documentation, but I am not an electrical engineer--so maybe it's there, but I don't understand the units being displayed.  Ideally I would be able to pickup the full human hearing range (12hz to 28khz) so I can visualize this.  I am not as concerned about accuracy since I will only be mapping this to 160 leds in a spiral (the shape of the cochlea).    Thanks in advance for any assistance you can provide.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Peter BENSCH
ST Employee

MEMS microphones equipped with a digital output convert the analogue audio signal internally into a digital signal. Due to the Nyquist theorem, the maximum audio frequency is 20kHz, although the MEMS structure can process higher frequencies and delivers corresponding signals. The digital conversion acts as a low-pass filter, so to speak.

For a higher evaluable frequency, a MEMS microphone with an analogue output must therefore be used, which can pass on the full frequency range of the MEMS structure. However, these require additional effort because the small analogue signal has to be amplified to the voltage range that the microcontroller can measure via its ADC.

ST currently offers the IMP23ABSU as such an analog MEMS microphone.

Hope that helps?

Good luck
/Peter

In order to give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on Accept as Solution on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
MasterT
Lead

Can't find in datasheet, but product table states as 20 kHz

Mic.png

https://www.st.com/en/mems-and-sensors/mems-microphones/products.html

Peter BENSCH
ST Employee