cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VL53L1X outdoors

MWatt.2
Associate

The VL53L1X outdoor performance is hindered by huge amounts of noise, and wildly fluctuating results, compared to indoors. I notice that the demos I can find online about this sensor conveniently never show it outdoors, although some articles mention it being used as a reversing sensor, or even a drone landing sensor...

Also, since this is supposedly the official Q&A place for ST devices, why is there such a dearth of answers here? A previous query regarding this outdoor problem received no satisfactory answer.

I found somebody asking about a filter, only to be told it's not a visible light sensor anyway.

Is it me, or is this sensor not meant for outdoor use? I'm only a hobbyist roboticist, and the simple code I've written so far works superbly indoors, but point this sensor towards daylight and all bets (and readings) are off.

Am I missing a code setting, or is there actually a filter that will solve this issue. I know I'm repeating questions asked before, but the lack of definitive answers is frustrating.

Any suggestions?

Max

8 REPLIES 8
IMi��
Associate

No answer from ST?

John E KVAM
ST Employee

Sorry for the slow reply. This is entirely my fault. The email alerts were not getting to me.

But I should have checked anyway.

As you guessed, it's an indoor sensor. We didn't intend it that way, it's just physics.

The sensor outputs an eye-safe laser light. If you could see it, it would be about as bright as a common Red LED on must electronics.

Outdoors we go up against the sun. Which generates a ton of 940nm light. (Oddly, there is not as much 940nm as the visible frequencies, but still a lot.)

And all that light looks to the sensor like noise.

When the signal to noise ratio goes too low, we cannot get an answer.

The drone landing works because the sensor is pointed down - away from the sun.