Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32L USB CDC VirtualCom example : device not recognized

nigel2
Associate II
Posted on January 21, 2015 at 10:34

Hi

I'm a relative newbie in using ST or ARM devices, and I'm attempting to get a USB CDC device working using the VirtualCom example code, using an STM32L152 in a custom pcb.

I'm using the Kickstart edition of IAR embedded workbench (is there a problem using this?)

The main problem I'm having at the moment is that when I build my code and download it to the mcu, then plug the USB into my PC (64 bit Windows 7 Pro), I get a message on the PC ''USB device not recognized'', and the device appears in Device Manager  with a yellow triangle named ''Unknown Device''.

If I look in Device Manager at the ''Unknown Device'''s properties : they start as follows:

Device Description : Unknown Device

Hardware IDs : USB\UNKNOWN

On our pcb, we've got an 8 MHz crystal clock on the HSE

What I'm intending to do is to get the PLL producing 48MHz for the USB... and the fastest possible SYSCLK.

HSE = 8 MHz

PLLMUL = 6

so 

PLLVCO = 6*8 = 48 MHz

PLLDIV = 2

so

SYSCLK = 24 MHz

AHB, APB1, & APB2 prescalers are all set to 1

I've used RCC_GetClocksFreq() to get the configured clocks' frequencies and that tells me that the code thinks SYSCLK, HCLK, PCLK1 & PCLK2 are all 24 MHz. I therefore assume that USBCLK is correctly set to 48 MHz.

I've tried setting MCOPRE to 1 and MCOSEL to output SYSCLK, and can measure 24.000 MHz on the MCO pin. so I know that seems to be working.

Does anyone have any ideas what could be wrong please ?

#cdc #usb
3 REPLIES 3
sdim
Associate III
Posted on January 22, 2015 at 20:40

Try to disable VBUS sensing.

hpcd_USB_OTG_HS.Init.vbus_sensing_enable = DISABLE;

nigel2
Associate II
Posted on January 23, 2015 at 13:00

Unfortunately, I can find nothing about VBUS in the reference manual (RM0038) for the STM32L152xx device we're using.

(the part number on the chip is STM32L152RDT6)