Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

WAVE PLAYER AND RECORDER

sami
Associate II
Posted on April 16, 2013 at 21:57

Hi

My application depends on the discovery board design where I need to record  and play simultaneously.

It seems when it record only the recorded wave  is clear with low noise  , but when playing  wave at same time the recorded sound is full of noise and not clear .

I am debugging for hours but no way ..

can it be ?:
  • writting to usb (file system) is slow and cant handle playing and recording so it delays the recording .
  • a miss match between interrupts ..

Any suggestions?

Also I cant open the recorded file rec.wave in windows7 any suggestion here too .

Thank you in advanced

Esat

#stm32f4
7 REPLIES 7
frankmeyer9
Associate II
Posted on April 17, 2013 at 08:32

I am not an expert in USB, so I can't judge the viability of you design (which code you not revealed).

But to check if you have dropouts, or to measure noise, create a sine signal of reasonable frequency and level, and check the output signal. In case of visible/audible trouble, you can trace it's way back through the code.

sami
Associate II
Posted on April 17, 2013 at 11:12

The code  depends on the discovery code .. same code ..

I hope one of the discovery board people from ST reply because it is the heart of the design to play and record at same time .. if the stm32f4 cant handle that ( I dont think so ) so I need to change the design to use 2 MCU one for recording and other for playing.

Could be a problem in the Mic in case of wrong soldering ?

frankmeyer9
Associate II
Posted on April 17, 2013 at 11:46

I hope one of the discovery board people from ST reply because it is the heart of the design to play and record at same time ..

Could you explain what you mean ?

There is no audio/mic input to the STM32F4, at least I can't see any.