cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Starting STM8L152 Discovery Board project

IC_DOC
Associate II

I am new to ST digital products and am working on getting the STM8L Discovery running for coding and debugging before a new serious project begins. My question is how to identify and connect the needed resources for this MPU, etc. Like, how to talk to the Discovery board, compile code, debug it, program and reprogram it. I have the Discovery board and legacy USB cable to-from Windows PC. I have lots of PDF data files and ST Cube MX, Cosmic CXSTM8 Special Edition, ST Visual Develop, ST Visual Programmer. How do all of these tools work together for editing source, compile, program and debug, reprogram? Feedback is earnestly requested!

6 REPLIES 6
AA1
Senior III

You need to have some background with C programming, compilers and linkers. Read "UM1014 - Getting started with STM8L-DISCOVERY" and the reference documents. The Discovery board is connected to your PC by USB. But first install the software.

IC_DOC
Associate II

Thank you for the reply. But which "software do I install?"

I have done embedded MPU projects with K&R C and PIC but no ST. My first main help for STM8L152 is what software do I use to talk back and forth from Windows 10 PC and Discovery board? I am stumped so far.

Read the documents. For example UM1014 - Getting started with STM8L-DISCOVERY page 2.
1.2.1 Software environment
1.2.2 Connect the STM8L-DISCOVERY to the host PC