cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Anyone using an STM8 to replace 74LSXX series ICs?

JRoth.3
Associate

I'm curious if I can use an 8-pin STM8 breakout board to replace some 74LSXX series ICs, or in some cases, maybe a handful of them.

I need to build a 7-seg LED display that outputs hex. I can order one, wait a week, pay $8 for shipping, hope it works as expected, etc., etc. But I'm looking for a better solution.

I've been doing software for the past 30+ years and started an EE degree years ago and never finished it. I should have stuck with it but I went another direction and landed in software. The last couple of years I started getting back into electronics I am starting to do some hardware tinkering and building some retro PCs (6502, 8-bit computer, etc.) and keep runnning into little issues where I am missing an IC or a hard to find IC is overpriced and I want to just create what I need. Or in this case, take a 7-seg LED driver design and tweak it to output hex. One of the issues is that you need a clock if you want to use a single IC for more than one display. So now something that should be pretty simple is getting a bit more complex. You also run into designs where you need shift registers. So really, using basic 74LS## series ICs for these retro projects is not a great fit. It works, but I suspect there's a much better options. So far, the best solution I have seen is using a CLPD. But there are pretty good options using a PIC as well.