cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should ST put Eclipse out to pasture?

Zbig
Associate

Hello,

I'm just starting with STM32. Came up with a low-power project, picked a suitable STM32L0 MCU, STLINK-V3PWR to debug and power-profile it, perfect! Then, to my horror, realized that STM32CubeIDE is based on Eclipse. I use Mac with large, high-resolution monitor and the UI on CubeIDE is unusably tiny. The splash screen displays upside-down (I kid you not). None of the suggested solutions I found to force it to scale worked. I could live with an antiquated UI from the decades past, I could try and ignore numerous Eclipse quirks and peculiarities but I cannot ignore the fact that I cannot see the UI. As a software dev myself I'm fully aware that the task of moving such a project to another platform would be nothing short of monumental. I'm not holding my hopes high, not expecting anything, just providing feedback. The truth is hardly anyone liked Eclipse back in the days it was pretty much the only game in town. Now, that every software person and their dog moved to IntelliJ or VSCode, the Eclipse development will only fall more and more behind the times. From this point on, I'll be looking at competitors' products first, just on the merit of them not using Eclipse. And while my decisions are objectively irrelevant to ST's bottom line, I can't imagine being alone in this camp. Tools do matter.

Best regards,
Zbig

6 REPLIES 6
Oskar_H
Senior

Hello @Zbig,

you are right about Eclipse being more and more dated and STM32CubeIDE is based on it since the beginning of its story. I think it would be endless harsh effort for ST to move to another platform now...

You may not be aware of ST has been surfing on the VSCode wave since last year, they have introduced their first official extension: https://community.st.com/t5/other-tools-mcus/vscode-for-stm32-extension-1-0-0-released/td-p/143795