cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

QUADSPI Baremetal C Memory Mapped Waveform Has Data But Variable Reads Only 1 Byte

ilyus
Senior II

Win10, CubeIDE, Implementing QUADSPI in C purely on registers.

Have scope and logic analyzer.

STM32F746 Disco 

Running MCU on default HSI 16MHz internal, QUADSPI runs at 1MHz for easy debugging and capture with cheapo logic analyzer.

Indirect write/indirect read work correctly and return expected number of bytes. Even with maxed out system clock (thoroughly tested - debugged it so much I can read waveform without decoder).

I've never used it in memory mapped mode before. So here is my code:

uint32_t readout_firstword;
QSPI_readMemoryBytesQuad(0x00000000, 4, (uint8_t*) (&readout_firstword));
uint32_t readout_secondword;
QSPI_readMemoryBytesQuad(0x00000004, 4, (uint8_t*) (&readout_secondword));

/* Activate memory-mapped mode */
QSPI_enabledMemoryMappedMode();

uint32_t readout_firstwordMemoryMapped = *(uint32_t*) (0x90000000);

The readout_firstwordMemoryMapped returns 0x000000fa, which is only 1 correct byte of the entire word (0xFACE8D00).

Curiously enough, the waveform contains the entire first word, the entire second word that I never asked, then it also contains a few dozen more clock cycles and it never releases chip select. It stays low forever.

This is the waveform that addressing memory in memory-mapped mode does: