cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Failed to start GDB server Error in initialising ST-Link device

ADabl.1
Associate II

Hello folks,

I am new to STM32 and have been using it (STM32H7A3ZIQ) for a while, everything was fine with download and debugging codes until a week ago when STM32CubeIDE suddenly has stopped launching the debug session. An error msg -failed to start GDB server (see attached) pops out whenever I want to debug codes, I have been trying to resolve this very problem for the past week by following other people's solutions on Youtube, but all my attempts were in vain.

In addition, I installed different ST-Link programs provided by ST such that ST-Link server (Utility), STSW 004, 007, and 009. But even by doing so, I couldn't resolve this matter and no device found remains.

NB:

• Even after having updated my device (V3.J8.M3) by using ST-Link 007, STM32CubeIDE doesn't recognise it at all (no device found on target).
  • ST-Link utility also cannot connect to the target

I hope someone could help me to get back coding.

I look forward to hearing your expert thoughts on how to resolve it.

BR,

AD

11 REPLIES 11
moatjon
Associate III

Hey AD,

Are you using a Nucleo board? If so, are the headers/jumpers on the Nucleo fitted correctly? The error message suggests that the ST-Link itself can be detected, but that the target itself is not found. Perhaps you can use the multimeter to check if both the ST-Link and the target chip are supplied with a proper VCC.

You mention you have used different ST-Link programs, have you also tried STM32CubeProgrammer? If not, you can try updating your ST-Link firmware through STM32CubeProgrammer. If STM32CubeProgrammer does detect your target chip, you can select the flashable binary output of your build folder and flash the chip manually through STM32CubeProgrammer.