cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

changing any of option bytes leads to increase of read protection level in stm32f407

abdosalm
Associate II

I am new to ST forums. actually, this is my first post here.

I am facing a kind of strange problem with no explanation. actually, I have been digging through the reference manual for 5 hours now.

currently, I am implementing my own version of bare-metal for the embedded flash memory in stm32f407, the problem is that whenever I try to modify options bytes of the flash memory, it behaves as expected but when I power off and then power on my board, the read protection level is always set 1 even if I set it to 0 in the code.

not only that but even if the board 

is still connected and I end the debug session after modifying boot options leaving RDP to level 0, when I start a new debugging session, I can't. simply because RDP is set to level 1 by itself.

I actually read in the reference manual page 93 this line:

• Level 1: read protection enabled
It is the default read protection level after option byte erase.

but still don't know what it has to do with RDP level. 

here is my code:

HAL_FLASH_ErrStates_t HAL_FLASH_Init()
{
// local used variables
uint16_t local_u16TempVal = 0;
uint8_t local_u32Counter = 0;
uint8_t local_u8TempBitPos = 0;
uint8_t local_u8SectorsLength = sizeof globalConstArr_SectorsConfig_t / sizeof globalConstArr_SectorsConfig_t[0];
HAL_FLASH_ErrStates_t local_errState_t = HAL_FLASH_OK;

// check for errors
for (local_u32Counter = 0; local_u32Counter < local_u8SectorsLength; local_u32Counter++) // if you want to improve code, unroll this for loop for 11 lines of code
{
if (globalConstArr_SectorsConfig_t[local_u32Counter].WriteProtection >= LIB_CONSTANTS_MAX_DRIVER_STATE || globalConstArr_SectorsConfig_t[local_u32Counter].SectorNumber >= HAL_FLASH_MAX_MAIN_MEM_SECTOR)
{
local_errState_t = HAL_FLASH_ERR_INVALID_CONFIG;
break;
}
else
{
// do nothing
}
}