cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STSAFE- A110 mqtt tls authentication

Anzal3c3
Associate II

Hello, I am confused in finalizing a secure chip for my iot gateway(linux). I read all the documents for ST SAFE-A110. My gateway has an mqtt broker which is bridged to another broker in cloud. In order to Implement TLS for mqtt i need to provide key and certificate path in the mosquitto broker configuration file. Which is impossible since key is stored in the chip and is not user readable.

question:

1. How to implement tls over mqtt using STSAFE-A110?

I have read that there is a challenge given to the chip to authorise a connection from cloud is it generically said in the case of tls or any additional program needs to be run in cloud to acheive this or this will only work in case of clouds like Azure or AWS ? is it possible to do secure authentication using oem cloud??

i am new to this security kind of application any help would be much appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Benjamin BARATTE
ST Employee

Hi @Anzal3c3,

Actually Mosquitto is supporting OpenSSL and Engine as well, therefore you can have a look at the STSAFE-A OpenSSL package (https://www.st.com/en/embedded-software/stsw-stsa110-ssl.html).

With the STSAFE-A OpenSSL Engine, you will be able to configure the mosquitto client with the tls-engine parameter and the tls_keyform set to "engine" and this should automatically use the STSAFE-A to authenticate within the TLS session.

Regarding the interaction with OEM Cloud, what is important is that has a certificate for the STSAFE-A which is recognized by the OEM Cloud. This means that you need to configuration the CA (Certificate Authority) certificate of your STSAFE-A to your OEM Cloud.

With such configuration, it will be transparent as the certificate verification is built-in the TLS handshake.