cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to get 0 or 100% duty cycle in up-counter mode

PBana.2
Associate

Dear community

I am new STM32G4 family bu i have several years of experience with C2000 form competitor TI. I would like to use STM32G4 controller in new project but i have lots of problems. I have read AN4539 HRTIM cookbook and HRTIM chapter in Reference manual and tested examples form CubeMx

I set my timer,

SETx1R -> PRD -> Period event set output to high state

RSTx1R -> CMP1 -> Compare equal event reset output to "low" state

I update my duty cycle with values in range from 0 do Period (PERCR Register)

When CMP1

= 0 -> Output is set 1!!

I try to analyse priorities

Period set 1 but Cmp1 has higher priority and should force 0 because

CMP3->CMP2->CMP1->PRD, but the output has not changed to 0.

Null duty cycle mode ignores forcing output to 0?

According to AN4539 figure 12 buck-boost converter is similar (but period set, cmp1 reset). In this situation 100% duty cycle does not work.

I have also tested example from cube library but also it does not work with 0-100% duty cycle in the same way.

How to set the timer properly Set Reset to get working with 0 and PERCR values and getting 0 and 100%. The examples form cube does not work and i observe the same issue.

2 REPLIES 2
Bubbles
ST Employee

Hi @PBana.2​,

yes I confirm, there are limitations on the compare registers value, depending on CKPSC value it's possible to get 3 pulses from the extreme, but not any closer. Not by normal means. To get a flat 1 or flat 1 on the output, you can for example use the break feature as a workaround.

BR,

J

To give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on Accept as Solution on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.

PBana.2
Associate

Thanks @JHOUD for your answer.