cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

UART/USART Not working with gps module.

Isoclem
Associate II

Hello everyone !

(I don't speak english very well so sorry if i do some mistakes 🙂  )

So, I'm trying to connect the u-block neo6m to my STM32F446RE. The thing is when i'm trying to see datas with PuTTY, i get nothing. I'm new to this kind of things so I'm for sure forgetting something. So here are all the informations :

NEO6M ----- STM32F446RE

GRND on GRND

VCC on 5V

TX on D2 (PA10)

RX on D8(PA9)

These connections seems to be the right connections following user manuals and dashboard and all... : Sans titre 7.jpgSans titre 1.jpgSans titre 5.jpg

To achive all of this, i've been looking at some tutorials on ytb. Also, i attached my main and the programs+library i used to get datas out of the neo6m.

I checked the port of STLINK, in my case it's COM5. When connecting on Putty, the terminal is blank.

aaa.jpg

Baud rate 9600 is default rate of neo6m and i'm aware that i have to change the value on putty.

The neo6m led is blinking so i'm assuming it's transmitting datas.

I have updated ST-link firmware several times, and reinstalled drivers, because i thought the problem was from ST-LINK unable to communicate properly. As for the debugging i have no errors.

Thanks for you help in advance !

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Isoclem
Associate II

Hello,

So this morning I corrected all of the points everyone here pointed out and take into account all of your advices :

- UART2 was indeed not set up.

- UART1 was disabled at some point I don't know why  (though it was but I corrected it).

- Made a simple test in main.

And it worked fine !

I'm going to attach what I did to get everything working, so it could help someone in the future :

So after setting up UART2 and enabling UART1,

This was added in USER CODE 2 :

1.jpg

And in this in the infinite loop :

2.jpg

Thanks everyone for helping !

View solution in original post