cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Troubles in Programming USART of NucleoF429

Hasan
Associate II

Hi All,

I am new in ST microcontrollers. I tried to get messages from the USART module of NucleoF429. i follow the steps in this article:

STM32StepByStep:Step3 Introduction to the UART - stm32mcu

I used many serial monitor tools such as TeraTerm but I could not get anything ..

I tried all the USART modules of F429, but I could not get anything.

Could you please help me ?

Thanks

6 REPLIES 6
KDJEM.1
ST Employee

Hi @Hasan​  and welcome to the Community 🙂,

Unlike the step by step tutorial, USART3 needs to be used for Nucleo-F429 (show the UM1974 and precisely section 6.9 USART communication).

I suggest you follow these steps:

1. Create a new project using STM32CubeMx.
  2. Select Nucleo-F429ZI board using Board Selector.
  3. Answer Yes to Initialize all peripherals with their default mode ? popup.
  4. In Pinout view tab, check that USART3 mode is configured to Asynchronous, PD8 is connected to USART3_TX and PD9 is connected to USART3_RX.
  5. Click on USART3 button, select Parameter Settings and make sure the parameters as shown in the below figure.0693W00000QNhhNQAT.png
  6. Select GPIO Settings and make sure the configuration GPIO as shown in the below figure.0693W00000QNhhrQAD.png
  7. Disable all other USARTs.
  8. Switch to the Project Manager tab and select STM32CubeIDE as Toolchain / IDE and give a name to your project.
  9. Click on Generate Code and accept to open your project in STM32CubeIDE.
  10. Open main.c in Project Explorer / myproject / Src / main.c.
  11. Insert the following lines between /* USER CODE BEGIN 3 */ and /* USER CODE END 3 */:
uint8_t Test[] = "Hello World !!!\r\n"; //Data to send
HAL_UART_Transmit(&huart3,Test,sizeof(Test),10);// Sending in normal mode
HAL_Delay(1000);

12.Check that no problem happened by rebuilding all files. There must be no error and no warning.