cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32U5A9 MIPI DSI Configuration Issue - Distorted Images / Timeout

UKhan.2
Associate II

Hello ST Community,

I'm facing a MIPI DSI configuration issue with my STM32U5A9 and TFT LCD. When using PHY DSI as the DSI lane byte clock source, my code fails with a timeout on HAL_DSI_ShortWrite. When I switch to PLL3P, the initialization proceeds, but the LCD displays distorted images.

Request for Assistance: I'm new to MIPI and suspect a misconfiguration in clock settings. Any insights on proper configurations or similar experiences with STM32U5A9 MIPI DSI would be greatly appreciated.

Details:

• MCU: STM32U5A9
  • LCD: TFT LCD with st7796S
  • Clock Source: PHY DSI (fails) / PLL3P (distorted images)

UKhan2_0-1701171434609.png

Your help in resolving this challenge is appreciated. Share your insights or suggestions if you've encountered a similar problem.

Thank you,

13 REPLIES 13
KDJEM.1
ST Employee

Hello @UKhan.2 ,

Are you using DSI  ULPM mode? 

If it is the case, I advise you to take a look to DSI_ULPM_DataClock . In this example the DSI clock should be derived from the clock tree PLL3.PLLP (ck_plldsi) clock for instance to allow a switch-off of the PLL DPHY to save power during the ULPM phase.

More information about the clock configuration in README.md.

I hope this help you!

Kaouthar

To give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on Accept as Solution on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.

Yes, we are using DSI ULPM mode, and we started with the DSI_ULPM_DataClock example. We've adjusted the configurations for our 320×480 RGB888 display, following their suggested clock source (PLL3.PLLP). However, we're experiencing a distorted image on the screen, and the displayed colors don't match our intended ones when drawing shapes like rectangles. Any suggestions on resolving this issue?

KDJEM.1
ST Employee

Hi @UKhan.2 ,