cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F303 ADC Simultaneous 4 ADC sampling

USakt
Associate

Hello ,

I have recently bought a Nucleo-144 with an STM32F303ZE . Ive been testing out basic programmes including ADCs and I am new to STM32 and embedded in general .

Problem:

I need to sample 4 channel input Intermediate Frequency(2MHz signal , and i need to sample it at a min of 5MSPS ) data with 0 or very minimal time delay between each individual ADC. Once I get (say a 1000 or so simultaneous samples of 8 bit data ) them , I dont mind the delay of transferring them over serially.

So I figured that an MCU with 4 independent ADCs would do it. I am currently using CubeMx with Keil(HAL libraries ) .

I have a couple of noobish idea oft this , but i cannot figure out the SIMULTANEOUS part

1. Initialize the 4 ADCs -> Use a trigger to start conversion and read the data at my leisure
  2. Use DMA on 2 x Dual regular simultaneous mode.
  3. Initialize the 4 ADCs , read the values 1 by one , throw away the initial x samples and last y samples of data ( a detailed timing diagram of the ADCs would really help)

Whatever I do I can think only sequentially which will cause a delay between readings ( Ex : polling the ADCs 1 by 1 will cause a delay . Or is there an interrup which will stop all the ADCs simultaneously?)

Ive looked around and found very few / no examples of multiple ADCs running simultaneously.Just multi channels

A couple more questions :

1. What is the simultaneous sample and hold function of the ADCs ( i guess I can simultaneously sample the data , I convert it at my leisure )

2.HAL_ADC_Start_DMA(&hadc2,adc_val2,10);

HAL_ADC_Start_DMA(&hadc1,adc_val,10);

Although I have initialized both ADCs in independent mode with all the settings same , when I run the code above , the system just updates the hadc2 values and the ADSTART register of the other ADC is 0. Do in need to interrupt it somehow?