Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reading Encoder and Input Capture on Same Timer

Tesla Sparks
Associate
Posted on July 15, 2018 at 11:13

Hi everyone!

I'm using an STM32F767ZI and I want to read an encoder: I'm new to STM, so I am using CubeMX in order to set the mcu in the right way. 

I would like to read encoder's signals with only 1 timer, like timer 1.

So I have 3 channels: CH_A and CH_B, that are assigned repectively to 

TIMx_CH1 and TIMx_CH2 ; and also the index, CH_I.

For CH_I, I've read that is possible to set up a third timer channel, like CH3 or CH4, in 'input capture mode' to trig the Index signal, on the same timer, but how can I do that?

I found a callback function in an application note:  'HAL_TIM_IC_CaptureCallback(&htim_that_I_want)' , should I use it and write inside this funcion to reset the related timer?

Is there any automatic way to auto resetting timers when the Input Capture on CH3 or CH4 detects an edge?

Thanks!

2 REPLIES 2
Posted on July 15, 2018 at 12:07

I don't Cube so won't help with the incantations there. I can describe what you need in terms of the Reference Manual, though.

This would be a normal input capture, so you want to set TIMx_CCMR2.CC3S = 0b01 (CC3 channel is configured as input, IC3 is mapped on TI3) and enable it by setting TIMx_CCER.CC3E = 1. This by defaults triggers on the rising edge; you can change that if you want by changing TIMx_CCER.CC3P/CC3NP.