cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modifying Open drain and push pull frequency of I3C messages with appropriate duty cycle

Asfand
Associate II

Hi
How can we define separate frequency for open drain and push pull modes for I3C communication ?

In the documentation only the low phase is mentioned but for high phase there's no separate option for OD & PP modes.

Asfand_0-1694444071076.png

Ideally I would like to do something like this 

Asfand_1-1694444249955.png

<Context> I am working with  STM32H5RB03 as the controller and a MEMS sensor as the target. I want to do I3C communication at 12.5Mhz but the initial OD phase should have much lower frequency(<2Mhz) in order for the sensor to ACK(respond). I'm a newbie so might make basic mistakes while formulating my question, please ask if you need more clarity.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Hello @Asfand , 

Sorry ! The I3C_CtrlTimingComputation function is not available in the I3C files .

But you can just define LL_I3C_CtrlBusConfTypeDef and add the parameters for the new timing : 

This mean, configure the parameters SDAHoldTime, WaitTime, SCLPPLowDuration, SCLI3CHighDuration, SCLODLowDuration, SCLI2CHighDuration, BusFreeDuration, BusIdleDuration in the LL_I3C_CtrlBusConfTypeDef structure through i3c Init structure.
Then call : 
HAL_I3C_Ctrl_BusCharacteristicConfig(I3C_HandleTypeDef *hi3c,const LL_I3C_CtrlBusConfTypeDef *pConfig); 

Foued

To give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on Accept as Solution on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Foued_KH
ST Employee

Hello @Asfand , 

You can't define separate frequency for open drain and push pull modes for I3C communication in STM32CubeMx.
So after generate code, you should set the desired frequency 

/* Set bus speed to 1MHz for example*/
LL_I3C_CtrlBusConfTypeDef CtrlBusConf;
/* Calculate the new timing for Controller */