cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting started with STM32H753I-EVAL2

rbedin
Associate II

Hello,

I would like to evaluate the STM32H753XI MCU and I suppose the right board for that is the STM32H753I-EVAL2. Since I am completely new to STM MCUs and MPUs, I would like to know a little about it:

- Is it sufficient to have the board itself and STM32CubeH7 to run and debug applications?

- Is it suitable for bare-metal software development?

Thanks,

Ricardo

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
SofLit
ST Employee

Hello @rbedin ,

STM32H753I-EVAL2 is the superset in term of features versus other boards like Nucleo or Disco board having the biggest MCU package TFBGA240. This induces to the fact that you will run more applications and test features than other boards.

Is it suitable for bare-metal software development? ->  the HW can run baremetal or RTOS because basically it doesn't depend on the HW. So yes you can run baremetal or RTOS. For this you can use the examples provided in  cube package STM32H7 from here: https://github.com/STMicroelectronics/STM32CubeH7/tree/master/Projects/STM32H743I-EVAL

Good luck :).

To give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on "Accept as Solution" on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
STTwo-32
ST Employee

Hello @rbedin 

First let me welcome you to the STM32 World. 

To be able to program our STM32 you have to use one of the IDE to program and debug your code (STM32CubeIDE, IAR, Keil,...). Also, you can start your project from our STM32CubeMX to make it easy to initialize all peripherals that you need. 

Maybe the Microcontroller - stm32mcu getting started Wiki is a good start for your development. 

For your second question, our STM32 are suitable for bare-metal software development.

Best Regards.

STTwo-32