cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Custom bootloader running HEX file

oren_perry
Associate II

I am attempting to make a custom bootloader for the STM32L431 series uC.

using the st videos on the subject (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OkUQ3iMmiYQ&list=PLnMKNibPkDnEb1sphpdFJ3bR9dNy7S6mO&ab_channel=STMicroelectronics),  I managed to load the hex file from another project (just the data) into the flash starting at an address set by FLASH_APP_ADDR in the bootloader code. I manually verified that the flash is exactly the same as in the original project for this region with all the hex data.

My question is, how do I then run this code? The go2App function crashes with hardfault and I'm pretty sure I'm missing something very obvious, but I am very new to bootloaders.

My final goal is to allow the bootloader to receive this data via canbus and write it manually, but for that i'll have to understand how to save/run data from a hex file in this bootloader. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
oren_perry
Associate II

Ok, I got it all figured out.

1) Thank you to the two comments above this, both good replies.

2) The following site and included video really helped me understand how to do this: https://embetronicx.com/tutorials/microcontrollers/stm32/bootloader/simple-stm32-bootloader-implementation-bootloader-tutorial/

3) some of my lessons for anyone who is also in need of help:

• The "App" project needs to know where to point for all of it's functions, this doesn't just mean that setting the flash base address is enough. Set the VECT_TAB_OFFSET to your offset after un-commenting the USER_VECT_TAB_ADDRESS definition.
  • If you return to your bootloader, all the interrupt vectors will be off because the offset definition is not set in the bootloader by default, so repeat the last step for the bootloader (with an offset of 0).